20171100 SEN Screening Test and Consultation EnglishChildhood disorders or developmental disorders, most often occur and are diagnosed when the child’s of school-age. According to Department of Health, Hong Kong, there are basically ten types of developmental disorders.

  1. Hearing Impairment
  2. Visual Impairment
  3. Cerebral Palsy
  4. Autistic Spectrum Disorders
  5. Dyslexia
  6. Mental Retardation & Developmental Delay
  7. Language Delay
  8. Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder
  9. Development Co-ordination Disorder
  10. Anxiety Disorder

Other than Cerebral Palsy, Development Co-ordination Disorder and Anxiety Disorder, all the other types are also identified as Special Educational Needs (SEN) by Education Bureau, Hong Kong.

When parents detect anomalies in their children’s development, basically there are three stages of seeking professional assistance.

  1. Screening Test – It is an initial test by using the screening tools and rating scales to help measure if a child has signs of any developmental disorders.
  2. Formal Assessment – It is a further in-depth and all-rounded assessment on the developmental disorders after the initial screening test.
  3. Treatment – The medical and psychological treatment and the individualised education plan will be planned to help children to cope with their disorders.

It is important for parents whose children suffer from one or more developmental disorders to seek professional assistance, understand their difficulties and approach their problems in a positive way.

For further reading, please visit the following links:

What is Special Educational Needs (SEN)? The case in Hong Kong


SEN Support Services and Screening Test


Written by:

Dr Joanne Ka Wai Chan

Founder, Lifetime Development

Chartered Psychologist, Registered Occupational Safety and Health Consultant, University Lecturer and Experienced School Senior Teacher

Reference: http://www.dhcas.gov.hk/english/health_pro/develop_dis.html